Magical Monday – Weekend Recap

Hello and welcome to another Monday Weekend Recap! FALL is in the air. Shocking.

It’s dropped from a nice hot 80°f+ to around 50-65°f. I noticed today that we had the air on in our house and promptly shut it off. It was more cold in our house than outside. I had leggings on under sweats and a long sleeved shirt with an infinity scarf wrapped three times around my neck (at times pulled up over my mouth and ears) to keep warm. Burr. Unfortunately, it is going to get bad this year. Hopefully not as bad as last winter (wading through 4 feet of snow banks to get to the front door in the morning and at LEAST -5°f at night at most -20°f). I’m praying we stay at least away from the negatives this year but as its usually so warm in September, I am going to go with a big, fat, NOPE.

I had a really lovely weekend, having requested Sunday off for a wedding.

Friday – I worked Friday and Saturday nights, but managed to squeeze a little in between. On Friday morning I was two hours late leaving work (the joy of our internet and phones being down and not being able to do my paperwork for audit). I left around 845am and met up with my girlfriend Alisha so that we could get a present for my best friend’s son Douglas’s birthday party the next day (Saturday). We piled ourselves and her son in and went to the closest Walmart as I had some shirts and pants to exchange anyway. Unfortunately they didn’t have the shirts I needed at this location (I bought a bunch of long sleeved plain shirts in different colors for the fall), so I have to do this sometime this week. I ended up buying Douggie two outfits and some skull pajamas (his auntie keeps him rocked out). By the time we checked out and drove back it was already past noon and we were starved so we stopped for a hot-n-ready and devoured it back at her place while watching one of my FAVORITE movies ever: AUSTENLAND! I usually sleep when I get home from work, so I was super sleepy after eating pizza and shopping. I left and slept the rest of the Friday until work at 11pm.

Saturday – I woke up at 3:30pm and got ready (the birthday party started at 3pm but they know I got off at 7am and slept) and headed over. I stopped to buy a bag (I always forget that part) at the Dollar General. Of COURSE the Fall section was the same aisle and I ended up getting some glade plug ins for home. They were two in a pack for $5.00 and I got Pumpkin Spice and Balsam (I love Christmas Trees) and a pink frame that I plan to put a picture of my dog Ginger in (adopted in July). We had a lot of fun (i’ve known my best friend Kristin and her family for ten years now and they are basically my family). They may be a little nuts sometimes, but eh, it makes for interesting family gatherings! I hung out all day there and since we got back to their place with everything at 9:30pm, I decided to skip going home and went straight to work at 1030pm.

Sunday – I got off work at 7am, came home and showered, went to sleep around 8am and was so upset because I didn’t even think about the fact that the wedding was at 2pm and that meant getting around 3 hours of sleep. I must have shut my alarm off because I woke up at 1245pm to texts from my friend Eric that I was going with saying WAKE UP! Haha. I jumped up, turned on my straightener, jumped into my dress, tried on a couple pairs of shoes with it, and then packed some leggings and pants in a backpack just in case. I straightened my hair, grabbed my makeup and booked it to Eric’s house. I got there around 1:30pm and we went to the wedding! My friend Eric I met while working at Potbelly Sandwiches in 2009 and we also met our friend Sara there as well. She married her dear partner Ellen in a GORGEOUS ceremony. It was probably the most unique wedding I’ve been to and my favorite. It was outdoors and everyone was sitting on planks of wood mounted between hay bales. Sara and Ellen both walked down the aisle to – get this – the JURASSIC PARK theme song. SO beautiful. Their first date was watching that movie and it was really special. After the wedding, the reception was five feet behind us in a pole-barn that was really clean and decorated for fall. There were adorable center pieces (I wanted to take them home).
Displaying 20140914_170331.jpg
And the FOOD was SO great. Pulled pork to put on sandwiches with a bunch of sides of different BBQ sauces, there were baked beans but with a different sauce that was more BBQ sauce with pieces of pulled pork in it (kind of a chili/baked bean blend), and baked macaroni and cheese! Ugh, I wanted seconds soo bad and I wasn’t the only one. They had hard cider, wine, and juice at the bar and eventually coors light (because us beer drinkers were getting crazy). They then had their first dance to The Lion King’s Can You Feel The Love Tonight (Sara is a drama girl I should mention). It was special. It was a small cocoon of love for these two ladies and I am so happy they made the commitment to get married, even though our state is not legally marrying gay couples. They deserve all the happiness in the world.
Displaying IMG_20140914_164359.jpg Myself and Sara
Displaying 2014091495160130.jpg.jpegFirst dance ❤
Displaying 20140914_183225.jpgI LOVED this cake topper!
Displaying 20140914_162240.jpg Yummy fall sprinkled cupcakes!

We had a really good time, had some drinks, met up with other Potbelly Alum (even our old general manager stopped by) and left around 6:30pm (earliest wedding ever). It was a small group, so it went quick. I dropped Eric’s drunk booty off and went home to snuggle this adorable pup:
Displaying 1410453529170.jpg
She’s a 15 year old toy poodle that I adopted from Last Day Dog Rescue in July. She’s a sweetie, sometimes a bitch like me, but a great dog. We ended up getting in our leggings, sweats, oversized old man sweater from thrifting, and in bed to watch more Big Bang Theory reruns – WHO is excited for the new SEASON 8 to start next Tuesday the 22nd!? I know I sure am. Can NOT wait.

That’s all for the weekend. It was busy at times, but it was lots of fun getting out and seeing people as well. How was your weekend?

Amanda

Leave a comment